Saga Ratings and Reviews
Browse Saga holidays
Browse all Hotel Holidays or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Fort Arabesque

Fort Arabesque

The cosmopolitan, Saga award-winning Fort Arabesque offers all-inclusive accommodation amid spectacular gardens overlooking the Red Sea. Out and about The resort's private sandy beach makes it perfect for relaxation, and its crystal-clear waters offer superb snorkelling and diving. The hotel runs a shuttle bus service to the centre of Hurghada approximately 35 kilometres away for a small charge. Hurghada airport is approximately 30 minutes' drive away. Hurghada Stretching along the Red Sea coast, Hurghada has developed at an incredible pace to become one of the country’s most popular resorts. With its golden sandy beaches and precious reefs there are naturally many opportunities to explore the underwater world, and behind the resort’s modern façade the heart of this former fishing village continues to beat, especially in the bustling bazaar of the old town.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Fort Arabesque
Review 1 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very enjoyable holiday

Date:20 June 2014
Customer Avatar
Faye
Location:cheshire
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a group of friends
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excursions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything about this holiday was great. The description of this hotel in SAGA's brochure is "spot on" Our SAGA representative Sameh was first class. All SAGA guests who I spoke with had the same regard for him as I have. The accommodation, food, service, were all to a high standard. The number in our group travelling with SAGA again both this year and next is on the increase. Thanks to everyone involved in making our holiday special.
The only bugbear was Thomas Cook airlines, delays outbound and inbound, just puts a dampner on the holiday. I would say to Thomas Cook "please get your act together" you may start losing customers if you don't.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Snorkelling. Lovely Holiday

Date:30 May 2014
Customer Avatar
vwaves
Location:St Ives, Cornwall
Gender:Female
Age:55-59
Travel companions:on my own
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went with Saga on this holiday as some travellers recommended this place when I was in Gran Canaria with my parents.
I wanted to snorkel and that was brilliant. You can walk straight into the sea and swim along the reef. I was VERY lucky when I got up early (6.30) to swim with a giant turtle. All on my own just me and him. .........and then the last morning I saw a really large Lion Fish and also a large moray eel! EEK.
Anyway other things. Fort Arabesque is very peaceful compared to the places around. In case other Saga customers are wondering travelling with Saga is BRILLIANT. You get whisked through the customs bit, the transport takes you direct to the hotel (no spending ages dropping off at loads of other places). You get a kettle in the room, free laundry, beer in the mini bar as well as juice and water and the rep is BRILLIANT. Most Saga guests come time and time again and I will be joining them. Saga clients are based in the West Wing and the staff in that restaurant are excellent. Indeed the service was all excellent and friendly but not pushy. I travelled on my own and had a brilliant time because of the friendliness from both guests and staff. There is entertainment in the Sunset Bar. A singer who might not be the world's best but he got everyone up and dancing.
The animation team were great too. I did stretch and yoga and joined in a dance class. They also have aqua aerobics. It is not all in Italian as some reviews have said. There is also a table tennis table. In the evenings the animation team put on shows and there are two professional acts which were worth watching. Thank you International team: Tito, Haitham, Hesham and Lauren and of course Ines.
I knew the food was basic but it was actually pretty nice. The wine with meals was okay. I don't drink much and the local brands of brandy,whisky were undrinkable! But people did drink them and in the Saga bar they are a bit better. You do have to pay for cocktails. Food hygiene is excellent. There were no tummy bugs.
My room 364 was fine. Lovely view. I could hear the music but it stops at 11pm. If you want to sleep earlier you can always request a quiet room. There were also ground floor rooms.
I did the trip to El Gouna which was fascinating. Also the semi submarine and a boat trip which the rep organised just for us! 11 of us on a large boat with lunch included for around £30 each. Oh money. I took Egyptian and Stirling. You can use any thing! But I didn't have enough for tips and I wanted to tip.You can take some £1 coins but also fivers. It is hard to get Egyptian money in small denominations.
I went to snorkel and that was just lovely. There were plenty of sunbeds. I guess if the politicial situation improves more tourists will travel to Egypt and it may get busier.
I can't wait to go back and really wish I had booked for a month! With Saga you can get the fourth week free at certain times and lots of people do that. Everyone knew each other but always included everyone. I am not sure what was so special to make people return so often.............just the sort of family feel. It is not a five star hotel but just had a lovely atmosphere.
Oh you get a voucher so you can have a Lebanese meal one night. I enjoyed that although some people didn't. Anyway it was nice to be waited on and sit by the sea. The Saga Welcome Dinner was really good and so sensible to have it near the beginning so everyone could get to know each other. You can tell I really enjoyed this holiday......can't stop writing about it!
Just one more thing there is a really good massage centre and also a Beauty Parlour. They come round on the beach to try to get you to have a facial with threading! or manicure or pedicure. But actually it was all very good value and very good! I treated myself to quite a bit and I never do that usually.
So I hope you have a lovely holiday too..............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Fort Arabesque Not one of the best holidays i have had

Date:30 January 2013
Customer Avatar
miclin
Location:Hampshire
Gender:Male
Age:65-69
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Australasia
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Not at all what i expected of a 4 star hotel, the rooms were dusty and dirty , and twice i removed the curled up rugs because my wife had tripped on them but each time they were put back by the cleaners but after telling them i did not want the rugs they were put away. The food was not at all appetising and was only ever lukewarm or cold . My wife lived on grated carrot cucumber and tomatos with 2 bread rolls for most of the month we were there .I myself suffered an upset stomach for 3 weeks and even had to go to my drs on my return to the uk. Only took one excursion which i booked with the rep to go to see a shopping area in hurghada and the marina no guide was present on this trip and we didnt even get to the marina !!! My wife and i are both oap's but found that this location and hotel would be for people who like to lie on sunbeds day in day out , but not to our liking. Most of the guests staying there over xmas and new year were moaning about the food and the entertainment ( which was awful the same singer night after night even singing the same old songs).but i wonder how many have complained to saga , or written a review ? This hotel and resort caters more for the italians and germans than the british as most of the arena entertainment was done in italian , and you didnt have to go to the arena as you could hear everything from our room until quite late at night , so with this im sorry but when i read some of the reviews about the good food at this hotel im just amazed as id like to know where these people ate dont think it was in the arabesque , but i couldnt recommend this hotel at all not on my experience. the beach was nice and most of the staff were nice just 2 good points about this hotel.
Response from Saga:By RebeccaCustomer Relations15 February 2013
Thank you for your review - we’ve been monitoring the Fort Arabesque very closely and the new management in place since the end of 2012 have implemented numerous improvements, including an overhaul of the bedrooms and a brand new menu. Our most recent feedback surveys show a real improvement in our guests’ satisfaction and we’re pleased to say the revamped menu is receiving good reviews.

Our resort representative has advised that the offending rug has now been replaced and it was removed from the room as soon as the hotel were made aware of it – your Health and Safety is very important on a Saga holiday!

The Saga representative doesn’t offer specific excursions for shopping and the Marina, although there is a free hotel shuttle bus to Hurghada. If there was any confusion regarding this service, we’ll make it clearer to guests in future that this is a free hotel service and not a guided tour.

The three singers in the Sunset Bar prove to be popular with many guests, however the hotel are looking for some new entertainers to provide more variety. The Fort Arabesque offers an international flavour and, although the Arena entertainment team are from Italy, the shows performed in Italian should also be presented in English at the start, which we’ve reminded the hotel to enforce.

Some rooms are a bit closer to the Sunset Bar than others, but guests can be moved if they find it too noisy – we’re really sorry that you were disturbed by the entertainment at any point, but we’re always happy to accommodate guests’ wishes wherever possible.

We're really sorry that your holiday didn't quite meet your expectations this time, but we hope that you can be persuaded to travel with us again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Snorkelling great

Date:20 November 2012
Customer Avatar
sammirocky
Location:kent, UK
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Southern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:relaxing & doing nothing
Overall experience: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Accommodation: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excursions: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saga representative: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Third time at this hotel but will not be returning, rooms being given to Russians next year, also they need refurbishment. No doors actually shut properly, shower doors never shut at all, white plastic covering was coming off them, sink was cracked, bed linen had holes in it as did the bed cover, rugs stained and curled at the edges, which was dangerous. Tables around the pool falling apart as were the chairs, bed covers on the beach need replacing, some done but not all. Staff as always brilliant, food not bad as usual, got very busy in the Restaurant at lunchtime, fine at breakfast and dinner. Semeh tried his best to get the music turned down on the beach at the next hotel, worked for a few days then he had to go back again. The microphone should be taken away from them they shout in Italian so much they don't really need it. The keep fit every morning had, usually, 1 or 2 people and 4 'entertainers' it was unnecessary to even be there, they disrupted all of our beach for one or two, very loud, songs.
Response from Saga:By LouisCustomer Relations14 December 2012
Thanks for your feedback about your latest stay here - what a shame that your third time here hasn't been as you'd normally expect.

We have worked with this hotel for a number of years and it continues to be a great success and a popular choice for our customers. You mentioned that some of the fittings in the rooms needed repairing and that there was a need of some refurbishment. The new hotel management team has set to putting right the necessary repairs - but this can only be completed effectively when the rooms are not occupied, so this is going to be an ongoing and gradual process.

As I've mentioned, a new management team is in place at the hotel and they are committed to making our customers' experience there as enjoyable now as it has been in the past and they have taken great steps to improving their menus, hiring and training new staff and working on replacing any furniture and fittings where needed.

Unfortunately, the music on the beach was operated by the neighbouring hotel, but feedback from our representative indicates that this is no longer an issue. We were also concerned to read your comments about other guests in the hotel and again, our team in resort have not heard comments of this nature. That being said, we have reminded the hotel to ensure there is a suitable guest mix in the hotel.

Once again, we're sorry that you were disappointed this time. Hopefully this won't put you off from travelling with us in the future.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SHAME ABOUT THE AIRLINE USED

Date:11 July 2012
Customer Avatar
ESSRJAY38
Location:ESSEX
Gender:Female
Age:75-79
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Southern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MY HUSBAND AND I HAVE SPENT 10 LOVELY HOLIDAYS AT "THE FORT" AND HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED THEM VERY MUCH. CANT FAULT THE HOTEL OR STAFF, ALWAYS CHEERFUL AND HELPFUL. ROOMS WERE SPACIOUS AND KEPT IMMACULATE BY THE ROOM BOYS. WE ARE TREATED LIKE LONG LOST FRIENDS AND WE MEET SUCH NICE PEOPLE MOST OF WHICH HAVE RETURNED TIME AND AGAIN. THERE ARE ONLY TWO THINGS THAT SPOILED THINGS - 1__._THOMAS COOK AIRLINE ARE QUOTED AS WORST IN THE WORLD BY "WHICH" MAGAZINE AND WE HAVE SPOKEN TO MANY PEOPLE WHO AGREE AND THATS THE REASON WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING THIS YEAR UNLESS THIS CHANGES._ _2_. IT NEEDS A CHANGE FROM THE SAME SINGER EVERY NIGHT- LISTENING TO THE SAME SONGS GETS A TINY BIT BORING BY THE END OF 4 WEEKS.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Holiday bar the Airline

Date:06 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:coventry
Gender:Male
Age:65-69
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Asia
Favourite holiday activities:relaxing & doing nothing
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We returned for the second time to this hotel as we had such a wonderful time in 2011 the food and rooms were excellent and the staff were brilliant . I would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes a relaxing holiday with good food and accommodation. The only down fall of the holiday was the Thomas Cook Airline that Saga use, as on the flight out we did not recieve the allocated meal we should have had as I don't think that Thomas Cook recognize Saga Travelers.
Also I booked and payed for selected seats but on arrival at the airport I was told they were double booked and could NOT have them and still awaitind a refund . The leg room on these flights were very tight and I have never experience this before.
If Saga continue to use Thomas Cook I think they will lose a lot of customers to Hughgada , Egypt.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Yoga lesson on Thomas Cook Flights

Date:07 March 2012
Customer Avatar
symomds.k.o
Location:Worcestershire
Gender:Male
Age:70-74
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Australasia
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is our third visit to Fort Arabesque our large room was on the third floor over looking the pool and with a fantastic sea and garden views
We felt the food in the Restaurant had improved since our last visit,and the light lunches served in the beach restaurant was an excellent idea. The water sports equipment needs a little T.L.C, but is in good working order, book a sail on the Cat. All the Saga and hotel staff were hard working and very helpful if you needed information any extras including more cheese at dinner.
The entertainment in both bars was of a high standard, but some of the Arena acts seemed a little tired.The Saga bar was good for a quiet drink and a chat with friends
The down side to this holiday is the Thomas Cook Flight which despite complaints over the years still has insufficient leg room and is still used by SAGA. Customers should be given an alternative flight at and extra cost if necessary or Yoga lesson by Thomas Cook to learn how to sit with their legs tucked behind your neck to fit into the flight seats
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a bad place to go for winter sun.

Date:02 February 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Merseyside
Gender:Male
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:US & Canada
Favourite holiday activities:taking a cruise
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Saga representative: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice hotel, the room my wife & I stayed in was large and had 2 king size beds & was very comfortable. The room attendants always made sure we were happy with the room and we had no complaints about the cleanliness and service provided by the staff.
The food in the restaurant wasn't of the highest quality and was very 'samey' each day. We did try & would recommend the Beach Restaurant & Bar. We ate there at lunch time on most days as it was not as noisy & busy as the hotel dining room. We also booked quite a number of evening meals at this Bar & would highly recommend it. You do pay a bit extra but it is well worth the extra cost.
The evening entertainment in the SAGA 'block' was very disapointing, with the same 'singer' on each night performing the same songs over & over again.
The pool area & beach are very good, with plenty of sun loungers & towels available. Although you need to on the beach very early to 'bag' one of the windbreaks. We heard that people were putting their towels on the loungers at the windbreaks at 7 'clock each morning.
We went on 2 excursions & would recommend the desert safari. We were taken by Land Cruiser into the desert where we visited a Bedouin village, watched the sunset & then had a very interesting & informative look at the stars & planets through a very expensive telescope. The guide was very knowledgeable & was obviously a keen astronomer.
We also visited the town of Hurghada but was not very impressed. Visitors to the town must be made aware that pickpockets operate there. Two people on our trip had money stolen from them. Please take care!
We also think that SAGA should think about a change of carrier from Thomas Cook. After booking our holiday in October & receiving our travel details I immediatly contacted Thoma Cook Airlines to book extra legroom seats & was told that this was not possible until at least 7 days before travelling by which time none was available. Presumably those passengers booking a Thomas Cook holiday have priority. Why? Thomas Cook Airlines must have the least amount of legroom per seat than any carrier that I have travelled with. Also on a flight that lasted almost 6 hours each way is their no inflight movie available?
Please, SAGA have a rethink on Thomas Cook Airlines!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christmas

Date:17 January 2012
Customer Avatar
Borneo
Location:birmingham
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Asia
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excursions: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is our 6th time at FA useually Jan/Feb this was our first time away at Xmas The hotel and the staff did a wonderful job and I think they enjoyed it as much as we did The two new male Egyption reps were brillient I know we all loved Pam but give them a chance you will find them friendly and approachable and very helpful There was a medical emergency and a lady taken to hospital she was later taken to Cairo Samah one of the reps couldnt have been more helpful even helping her family who were out there with Thomas Cook who didnt want to know. Fort A is still the best place for rest and relaxation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another brilliant month

Date:25 August 2011
Customer Avatar
SaraMcK
Location:Oxford
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our third trip to Fort Arabesque and it will not be our last. Love the Hotel, the beach, the swimming pools, the gym and the staff. The rooms are large, clean and beds comfortable. A month goes past very quickly and it is easy to find something to do every day. Lots of other people to talk to and plenty of returning customers. Food is plentiful and fresh and the staff very helpful. Pam, the rep, very good indeed. Good library and free laundry excellent. Only complaint is, as another reviewer says, flights are at difficult times and the seats on Thomas Cook have little or no leg room. Would be good for Saga to change providers. Really good holiday though, much recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

just like the caribbean!

Date:11 May 2011
Customer Avatar
val.read1
Location:colchester,essex
Gender:Female
Age:70-74
Travel companions:on my own
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been to this hotel for the fourth time this year,last year and this year for four weeks,I was worried that I would become a bit bored staying this length of time,but not a bit of it! I don't usually go back to the same hotel but this one is different,the staff are so welcoming,they have excellent memories, they remember you from the previous year! the overall experience is like no other,service,food,cleanliness,lovely room,wonderful gardens and views and one of the best reps.I have ever encountered in all my years of travelling with Saga, that is our Pam of course!another big bonus is the free laundry service which means you can econimise on packing for a whole month!! Also I met up with other holidaymakers from the previous year which was wonderful,it was like going home! This year Egypt when I was there, were, of course having a lot of problems,but this did not detract from my stay there at all.Egypt is still one of my favourite places in the world,and long may Saga continue to use Fort Arabesque.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resort

Date:10 May 2011
Customer Avatar
45717 Dauntless
Location:Darwen, Lancashire
Gender:Male
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Asia
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our second visit to Egypt and The Fort Arabesque Red Sea Resort. The hotel is somewhat isolated and surrounded by numerous other hotels located in the concrete jungle of Makadi Bay. The resort is Italian owned and caters for Italians, British and German guests. During our visit it would appear that at least one third of guests were British.
All of the staff are extremely friendly, polite and very attentive at the resort. Nothing is too much trouble for them and fully professional. The staff in the Poolside Bar have a brilliant sense of humour and loved to play small practical jokes on guests once they got to know them. The cleanliness throughout the hotel and bedrooms is of a very high standard and bed linen and towels are changed daily. The room boys do an excellent job and we were treated to various objects made from towels (crocodiles to flowers). All rooms are large and airy and have extremely good air-conditioning, multi-channel TV (at least 3 English speaking channels), free mini bar (re-stocked daily), safe, hair dryer along with tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel also provides a good laundry service (free to Saga guests). The swimming pools are cleaned daily by the pool staff, although some dead flies still remained floating on the surface on some occasions. The beach is cleaned regularly with numerous sun beds and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve at sun bed. You only have to swim out a few yards to view various species of fish.
The food at the resort is of good quality and plentiful, with all tastes catered for.
Breakfast: These are superb with a vast choice of cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice and eggs in whatever way you want them cooked (omelettes of all descriptions cooked to order in front of you). Different types of bread too numerous to mention along with croissants. Also grilled tomatoes each morning with a selection of other dishes including sausages and various cheeses.
Lunch and Dinner: Choice of two soups, which were delicious with a large selection of bread similar to breakfast. There was no shortage of salad with an enormous choice of dishes that were varied on a daily basis. For hot food there was usually at least two fish dishes along with options of beef, veal chicken, pizza and choice of pasta with ingredients that would be cooked to order. The main menu tends to repeat each week, but this did not prove a problem with the large choice of other available dishes. There was also a large range of sweets and plenty of fresh fruit to choose from for afters. All-inclusive guests are also entitled to afternoon tea (or coffee) with cake and biscuits.
Some form of entertainment is provided most evenings in the Arena, but this is usually Italian orientated. The Poolside Bar provided a local singer each evening with most songs in English.
Main Bars: Open from 9:00am until 12:00pm daily and serving a selection of soft drinks (including bottles of water) and local alcoholic along with tea or coffee. In the Beach Bars and Poolside Bar you could also help yourself to cans of Beer, Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Seven Up, Soda and Tonic Water along with numerous varieties of fruit juices. You could also obtain chocolate ice creams from either of the beach bars.
The hotel also runs a dive centre which provides snorkelling and free wind-surfing, kayaks and catamaran rides.
If the flight times improve I think we will be going back at some time in the future.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great holiday

Date:09 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Sexton
Location:London
Gender:Male
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:seeing the sights
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excursions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We went when most countries were preventing their citizens from travelling to Egypt, and so it was much more peaceful than it would normally be - no scramble for sun-beds - in fact none sitting on the beach within 30 metres! The scenery of sand and blue sea was stunning - the food very good - constantly replenished - and the Saga rooms were all at the quiet end of the resort - which was much appreciated. The Saga rep was superb - very efficient and approachable. Many saga guests go back each year. We can understand why! Only downside was the return trip on Thomas Cook Airlines. If we had wanted to be sardines, we would have gone to Portugal!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spring Visit

Date:07 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Young Oldies from Winchester
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excursions: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga representative: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I have been to Fort Arabesque for last 5 years in the Spring. Never dissapointed, food and service is good value friendly and obliging. Nice addition is dinner in the beach bar , albeit at extra cost, but a nice evening. What I really enjoy is the fact that within 25 mtrs of the beach that I can snorkel with the most fantastic range of colourful fish over protected coral. Only downside is the entertainment team. They are italian and cater for italians primarily, English is rarely used and the shows are lack lustre. The Saga rep Pam this year provided excellent but non-invasive support
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great holiday destination

Date:07 May 2011
Customer Avatar
wost
Location:Bewdley, Worcestershire
Gender:Male
Age:75-79
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excursions: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The overall service and friendliness of the staff is of the highest quality.
Food is always good to excellent, with plenty of choice at each sitting.
The grounds and general standard of the resort is top class.
One slight complaint, is that some of the rooms are beginning to look 'tired,' and need freshening up.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fort Arabesque
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Friendliest Hotel Anywear

Date:06 May 2011
Customer Avatar
Brama
Location:Devon UK
Gender:Male
Age:75-79
Travel companions:on my own
Favourite destination:Africa
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excursions: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saga representative: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have stayed at the Arabesque 7 times in all both with Saga & Thomson.The staff are excellent from the gardeners to the management.Nothing is ever too much to ask. The food is excellent and plentiful.The only problem I have found is the endless trek of people(mainly Russians) from other hotels along the beach and snorkeling in the sea ,as this hotel has the best beach in Mikadi bay.Although there are free windsurfing boards they are in poor condition and need replacing.The canoes are very good. The biggest drawback is having to travel on T.Cooks flights which are the worst in the industry for legroom . It is a pity that Saga will not use Easyjet flights . If you want a holiday that is both relaxing and rewarding the Arabesque is the place to go.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.