Saga Ratings and Reviews
Browse Saga holidays
Browse all Touring Holidays or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Dalmatian Island Explorer

Dalmatian Island Explorer

The crystal-clear waters of Croatia’s Adriatic Sea are graced with an archipelago of over a thousand beautiful islands swathed in fragrant pine groves, flowers and herbs. This voyage aboard MV Emanuel offers a wonderful way to appreciate the natural beauty and rich history of these islands and tiny islets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Review 1 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Having a great time on sometimes stormy waters

Date:07 May 2014
Customer Avatar
BabyBoomer55
Location:London
Gender:Female
Age:55-59
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Northern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:seeing the sights
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
If the word 'cruise' conjures up for you the image of a ship the size of an office block, then put it from your mind. The Emanuel is a small ship, carrying a maximum of 28 passengers, and thus able to nip in and out of small bays. Dubrovnik was the only place where we were not literally a couple of minutes' walk from the town centre.
The crew are charming, efficient and resourceful. Bad weather meant a change to our itinerary and a very bumpy ride from Korcula to Hvar which had us reaching for the sea-sickness pills. Another forecast storm towards the end meant that we got back to Dubrovnik ahead of schedule, which was excellent as we were able to get the port bus into town and walk around the City at night, exclaiming 'Wow!' I would really recommend that Saga consider altering the programme slightly so as to return to Dubrovnik routinely on Friday night and not Saturday morning. I imagine it's more expensive to spend an extra night moored in Dubrovnik but it would be worth it to allow travellers to see it at night when it's less crowded, tastefully spotlit and with brasiers burning in the streets.
Danko is an excellent Saga rep. He is efficient and organised but also very entertaining. He wasted no time on our early arrival back in Dubrovnik in arranging for us to attend a candlelit concert in one of the churches in the Old Town and we had three after-dinner musical evenings during the week of which the best was a local 'Klapa' quartet -- a Croatian a capella tradition.
Obviously you can't expect the facilities of a big cruise ship. We knew in advance that the cabins were small from looking at the photos on the website and were actually pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to find that we had ample storage space and a very effective shower. Meals are at set times and with set menus though the chef went out of his way to cater to a pair of vegetarians and a coeliac. He works miracles in his tiny galley and five of our seven dinners were good/very good, with only two disappointing: some swordfish and some beef which were both so dry and tough that we had trouble getting them down. The buffet breakfasts and lunches were always good, with a hot dish and plenty of salad. The wine list is red or white, both served from jugs at room temperature, though my husband informs me that the local lager was very palatable and there's always the plum brandy. I appreciated the fact that they provided decaff as well as regular coffee.
The itinerary is well thought out. If you've never been to Dubrovnik then no photos prepare you for the reality of its beauty. The old towns of Split, Korcula and Hvar are also stunning and we had a pleasant hike in the nature reserve on Mljet.
All in all, this was a really good holiday and I whole-heartedly recommend it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great holiday

Date:23 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Suffolk
Gender:Female
Age:65-69
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Southern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Itinerary: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really enjoyed the holiday. Plenty of time to relax on the sun deck as well as having guided tours at each place we stopped. Just wished that we'd been advised that there would be time for swimming as we hadn't taken swimmies. Food was excellent and plenty of it. Lovely chef seemed so pleased if you had second helpings. All the crew were helpful and considerate. Nothing was too much trouble. The 'entertainment' on our last night was brilliant. We're thinking of doing the more Northern trip next.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sailing in Croatia

Date:21 October 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Edinburgh
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Southern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A week on the Emmanual exceeded all expectations. Roomy cabin (lower deck is quieter) Great food, good company, great places to visit and very relaxing. Extremely spacious boat with masses of space for 30 passengers to each have their own sun bed/chair/table etc. One of the best holidays ever. Just want to repeat this next year on a different route.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dalmatian Island Explorer abord the Emanuel

Date:04 July 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed my holiday. It may have been a bit regimented regarding meal times, but this was understandable due to smallness of the ship and the problems this caused the chef in a small galley. The mixture of Mediterranean and Croatian food added to the experience. They also went out of their way to accommodate those in our group who were on gluten free diet or were vegetarian. The cabins were more than adequate even though they were small, having a double bed, air conditioning and hair dryer. The separate shower room was quite roomy and had adequate hot water. The itinerary was also well planed and the guides were excellent. The only fault was that we did not have enough time in Dubrovnik. A whole day was needed not just 4 hours. Our Saga Rep was excellent and very informative, and willing to help in any way.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful country Very Relaxing

Date:05 June 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Dorset England
Gender:Female
Age:65-69
Travel companions:on my own
Favourite destination:Australasia
Favourite holiday activities:being really active
Overall experience: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent trip , food good and tour manager good.
The crew went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable trip.
The cabins were excellent and our tour manager was extremely knowledgable on the history of Croatia
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MV Emanuel Dalmatian Island Explorer 23-30th April 1012

Date:02 May 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:West Sussex by the Sea
Gender:Male
Age:70-74
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite holiday activities:lots of variety
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
When we first looked at booking this holiday we were somewhat apprehensive but it looked an ‘adventure’ and we were quite prepared for anything. MV Emanuel normally carries 30 passengers but there were only 20 on this trip and we all got on splendidly.
We were prepared for a small cabin and that’s what we got, but as you only use it for sleeping and using the loo, it was quite adequate. We were fortunate to have a cabin on the main deck at the front, away from the engines.
The Chef worked hard to produce a variety of tasty meals and the whole crew did everything they could to make us comfortable. The Saga rep was knowledgeable and informative. Dinner was a very sociable event with entertainment provided on some evenings but anyhow our group of 20 made our own. Meal times are managed precisely as are other things for the operational management of the boat.
The itinerary had to be changed slightly at the beginning due to bad weather and the captain did everything in his power to avoid rough seas. We sailed off each morning after breakfast and travelled along the coast between most beautiful islands. In the end the weather was perfect and we enjoyed the scenery so much that we didn’t open our books. We moored up for lunch each day then once on shore we had organised walking tours and free time to explore on our own.
Overall we had a magnificent holiday and made some nice friends.
One criticism we have was that on three occasions when we were docked our boat was coupled to another Katarina line boat whose passengers had to navigate our boat to get to theirs. This blocked our views seaward but more importantly caused us to wake in the early hours when our noisy neighbours re-boarded their boat via our boat.
Gratuities were not included and what was suggested was somewhat excessive.
We enjoyed a splendid holiday.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dalmatian Island Explorer

Date:30 September 2011
Customer Avatar
El Sid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Our first cruise back in April 2010.
MV Emanuel superb little liner. Crew excellent. Catering first class. Tour guide/manager (Anthony) very helpful. Onboard entertainment was great, Tour iternary was very relaxing, interesting and informative. Croatia is so clean and friendly. There were only 23 passengers but nothing was spared. We had an extra excursion on our first night because we were unable to moor at Slano, so we rode on the local bus to the old city of Dubrovnik in the evening, when all of the 'Boat people' from the big liners were absent - absolute bliss.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not again

Date:14 August 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Scotland
Gender:Male
Age:75-79
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Northern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:taking a cruise
Overall experience: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Accommodation: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Itinerary: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ship very nice. Staff Very good and helpful. Food menu not good .Cabin small but as expected clean and comfortable
Indoor lounge seating five only seats all in need of
re-upholstering not at all comfortable.
This could be avery good short holiday but needs some work
done to bring it up to the standerd I expect from SAGA.as it is I could not recommend it.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

dalmation explorer mv emmanuel.

Date:09 August 2011
Customer Avatar
morecambebay
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
A wonderful cruise which exceeded all expectations. The ship and crew were excellent. The cabins a little small but that was to be expected and added to the 'spirit of adventure'. We were well looked after by the cruise manager and bar steward.The chef worked wonders from his tiny galley producing a varied menu each day.The cabins were clean and bedding and towels changed regularly.At all times MV Emmanuel was seen to be 'ship shape' and ready for inspection.
The entertainment was top class and the organised shore trips well organised leaving plenty of time for individual sightseeing.
All the 27 passengers mixed well and a happy friendly atmosphere added the crowning glory to the cruise.
I have no hesitation in recommending this cruise and have already caught the interest of friends who will be looking to book this holiday in 2012.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic holiday

Date:08 August 2011
Customer Avatar
craftycracker
Gender:Female
Age:60-64
Travel companions:with a partner
Favourite destination:Southern Europe
Favourite holiday activities:meeting new friends
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about this holiday was absolutely great,
The crew, The guide, The accommodation, The itinery
and The company!
Plan to do the other route next year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dalmatian Island Explorer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MV EMANUEL, June 2011

Date:01 July 2011
Customer Avatar
mikep1650
Overall experience: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accommodation: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Itinerary: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saga tour manager: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
MV Emanuel, superb boat & crew. Tour Manager was excellent, a mine of information.
Food good, all produced from a small galley.
Hvar & Korcula were highlights of a very happy cruise. Dubrovnik lovely, but three large cruise boats were in at the same time, which made it very crowded for a time.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.